Washington State’s new paid sick leave law (I-1433) requires almost all employers regardless of size to provide their employees with paid sick leave effective January 1, 2018. This site gives an overview of the law and provides answers to FAQs for both employees and employers. You can also access a list of resources to inform yourself about your rights and responsibilities under the law.
Most employees in Washington State will be entitled to earn paid sick leave under the law. The law excludes some categories of workers similar to those that are overtime exempt under Washington law. Learn about when you can use your sick leave.
If you work in Washington State, you are probably eligible to earn paid sick leave under the new law. Your eligibility depends on whether you are overtime eligible under the Washington overtime law.
Effective January 1, 2018, eligible employees will begin accruing paid sick leave at a rate of one hour for every 40 hours worked. When you use your sick leave, your employer must compensate you at your normal hourly rate. The law applies to you if you are a part-time or seasonal worker.
If you are an employer in Washington State, you are almost certainly required to provide paid sick leave to eligible employees. The law applies to almost all employers, regardless of size.
You must allow your employees to accrue paid sick leave at a rate of one sick leave hour for every 40 hours worked. You must provide regular notification to your employees about the amount of sick leave they have available.
This site provides employers with answers to FAQs and a list important resources. It also answers important questions about notice, verification, and discipline. If you need additional help navigating the new law, contact Vanguard Law for a free consultation.
If you think your right to paid sick leave has been violated or you have questions about your responsibilities under the Washington sick leave law, Vanguard Law may be able to help. Contact Vanguard for a free consulation.